Brazilian Cheese Bread

So far the only food I’ve been “craving” is Brazilian Cheese Bread. I was first introduced to this deliciousness at a Brazilian restaurant. They brought a little tray of fluffy, light, breaded goodness, that I WAS ALLOWED TO HAVE! Instead of wheat flour, it was made with tapioca flour.

Then my husband discovered a Brazilian cafe a few miles away, so whenever the opportunity presents itself, off we go to get me some Brazilian cheese bread.

After googling for recipes, I discovered they are also called Pão de Queijo, or Brazilian cheese balls, or puffs. I found a recipe here, and this is the recipe I followed:

 

1 egg, room temp

1/3 cup olive oil

2/3 cup milk

1 1/2 cup tapioca flour (bought at Safeway)

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

1 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Put all ingredients in blender, blend. Generously grease muffin pan and pour in batter. Bake 15-20 mins.

photo 1

Very runny batter.

photo 2

Nicely rising halfway through.

 

photo 3

Completely puffed up! (Yes they are hollow inside because of this)

photo 4

The final product. I cannot explain how tasty this is: it’s cheesy, light, and the perfect amount of parmesan flavor. The amount of batter I had was enough for at least 2 batches of mini cupcake forms.

Categories: Délicieux Régime | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

