Baked Sweet Rice Casserole

Today I craved a sweet rice dish that my friend’s mom used to make. It was a golden rice dish, right out of the oven, and it was so incredibly delicious that I would ignore my stomach’s full warnings and keep on eating it.
So after Googling a few key words, I realized that there is a plethora of sweet rice dishes. There was one way to solve that problem: talk to my friend’s mom! She gave me a recipe, and no they were not in exact measurements, just what the ingredients were, and approximately how to throw it all together. That’s OK; I was happy. Here is my attempt at making this amazing dish.

  • 1 Tbs butter
  • 1 cup Arborio rice
  • 2 cups milk

Bring this to a boil, and then simmer, for a total of 20 minutes. Add:

  • 3 Tbs honey
  • 1 egg + 1 Tbs sugar, beaten

Mix all this together, transfer to a glass dish, and place into a 350 degree oven. Bake until golden. I wanted to add some raisins because I remember those used to be in the original dish, but since I didn’t have any, I added dried blueberries (nope, not the same thing). After tasting this dish, I decided I probably needed to add another 1/2 cup of  milk, to make it more creamy, and perhaps more honey, because it didn’t turn out quite as golden as how I remember it. Nevertheless, the taste is incredible 🙂
photo 2photo 1photo 3

Categories: Délicieux Régime | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

