Main Idea and Supporting Details

0bc87c81413cf0b7202dc2aa9248f714

 

If you search Google for “Main Idea Table”, this image will come up. Today I was subbing for a teacher in a resource room.  The 5th grade students were working on reading/writing. The main lesson for the day was to explain “summarizing” and how to find main ideas and supporting details in a reading section.

I had seen this image on Pinterest the day before this assignment, so when I read the assignment, I instantly wanted to implement a version of this table.

The tables were created by folding a sheet of paper into quarters and cutting out a makeshift table, folding the legs in, and voila! I made a first demonstration stating that I will be writing about myself. I am the main idea, so my name will go on the “table top”. The supporting details will be about me and what things I like (such as favorite food, color, season, etc.)

The students had one minute to do this task. After discussing it, they seemed to grasp the concept and we moved on to the main assignment where they read the passage and located the main idea with supporting details.

Great little hands-on approach to this comprehension strategy.

Categories: School | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

