My Version of Borscht

The reason I say “my version” is that it’s not quite like how my mom used to make borscht, or my mother-in-law, or anybody else for that matter. Borscht can be quite versatile since ingredients can be increased or decreased depending on your tastebuds. Since I like to take shortcuts in cooking, I created my version of borscht!

  • 4 medium potatoes, peeled and diced, added to pot of cold water. Bring to a boil and then add
  • 4 cups of cabbage cole slaw mix (or you can slice up 1/2 a cabbage).
  • 1 beet, peeled and grated – add to pot

photo 2

 

Heat up frying pan and add

  • 3 Tbs olive oil
  • 1/2 onion, diced. Keep on medium heat until golden, then add
  • 1/2 cup grated carrots (I use baby carrots since they’re already peeled)

photo 1

 

 

Mix it up, let it simmer for ~5 minutes, and add

  • 4 Tbs tomato paste, mixed in with 1/2 cup water (or use tomato sauce; I didn’t have any)

Simmer for several more minutes.

Meanwhile, add to the pot

photo 3

  • 1 can (12 oz) roast beef
  • 1 can (15 oz) red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 1/2 Tbs salt
  • 1 tsp pepper

Pour in the onion/tomato paste mix into the pot, mix, allow to boil, and add

  • a sprinkling of parsley 
  • a dash of Montreal Steak Seasoning (I add this to everything)

And that’s it! By this point potatoes should be cooked through so turn off heat and enjoy a bowl of borscht!

photo 4

 

Categories: Délicieux Régime | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

