Food Concept

I am a huge fan of food! Granted, I have the set of items which I refuse to eat because I am a little bit picky. I refuse to eat mayonnaise, sour cream, ranch, most salad dressings, mushrooms, and all seafood except grilled salmon. If any of these items are cleverly disguised in a particular dish, I may let it slide. I have always thoroughly enjoyed bread. Anything bready. Banana nut muffins, cakes, cookies, biscotti, bagels, Krispy Kreme original glazed donuts, poppy seed pirogi, and last but not least, French Bread. Yes, it deserves to be capitalized. Oh, and pasta. Carbs were my favorite. And I was always unhappy about my weight and my acne-ridden face.

Long story short, I was about to get married, I went on a strict diet, I lost weight, my face cleared up.

However, I didn’t ever feel good about eating. I would eat a small amount of food and would feel bloated. My stomach would hurt, my digestion was slow, I felt sluggish, and my skin was dry. I tried cleanses and low carb diets and so many different things that it’s embarrassing. One day, I came upon a book called “The G-Free Diet”.  Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, and rye. After reading through possible symptoms of gluten sensitivities or intolerances, I decided to experiment and eliminated gluten from my diet. To me that meant no bread, no pastries, and no pasta. Ack!!!

I am happy to report that I felt amazing within a few days. The symptoms listed above disappeared. I made a mistake twice (ate an ice-cream cone at McDonald’s and a piece of bread at church communion) which resulted in symptoms returning for two-three days. Thus I conclude I have a gluten sensitivity.

I realize it’s a self-diagnosis, but it worked for me, so I’m sticking to it.

Categories: Délicieux Régime | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Food Concept

  1. I don’t know how you feel about Rye bread but it is gluten free if you ever need a bread fix without the icky side effects. Also as far as pasta goes there are tons of alternatives that are healthy gluten free and protien packed. I’m sure they are all in that book of yours. Good for you for taking charge of your food life 😀 and grats on the weight and acne going bye bye!

    • The book stated that gluten was found in wheat, barley and rye, so I would be a bit wary of trying rye bread. For pasta, yes, there are rice versions of it that are very tasty!

      • there are tapioca noodles too. they are actually quite good as funky as that sounds. and that is interesting about the rye. A book i was reading about it said rye was gluten free if made traditionally. maybe modern way it is made uses different stuff?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

